More and more American cities sell halal food.
These laws specify which foods are halal (lawful) and which are haram (unlawful) based on rules found in the Koran and according to some, declarations by religious leaders.
Animals used for food must be slaughtered ritually according to Islamic law. Islamic ritual slaughter involves cutting the jugular veins and carotid arteries as does kosher ritual slaughter. Some Moslems deem kosher meat to be acceptable, others do not. Hunted animals may also be eaten. Their carcass must hang upside down to let the blood drain out.
Fish with scales are always halal. Shellfish and scaleless fishes, such as catfish, are subject to debate. Animals that die by drowning, fire, electrocution, trauma such as roadkill, or being boiled while alive may not be eaten. Consumption of carnivores is prohibited but Muslims may eat piscivorous animals those that consume only fish. Consumption of omnivores such as monkeys and dogs is also prohibited.
Pork and alcohol are strictly forbidden. The restriction on pork prohibits the consumptions of most gelatine products. Some Moslems will consume kosher gelatin which is made from fish. Most Muslims will not cook with alcohol.
This cereal comes from The Philippines.
The increase in the Muslim populations of the United States and Europe has given rise to organizations that certify food products and ingredients as halal for Muslim consumers. For example, the Muslim Consumer Group is an American organization that that certifies both edible and non-edible consumer products. Their web site records over half a million hits a month and is visited by Moslems in more than ninety countries. The Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America (IFANCA) is a non-profit Islamic organization dedicated to promote halal food and the institution of halal. Headquartered in Chicago, Illinois, it certifies halal food production in over 20 countries around the globe.